Who compares Israeli grocery prices, and how they differ
Israel has far more than two services comparing grocery prices, though the press still writes as if it does not. We checked eleven — each on its own site and in the app stores, not in anybody else's comparison table — and this is what came out.
The table
| Service | Where it runs | Languages | How many lists | Keeps past purchases | Splits a basket | What is distinctive |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cheapersal | website | HE | not stated | not stated | not stated | ranks the shops |
| CHP | website, Android | HE | not stated | not stated | not stated | about 119,000 pages, the widest search presence |
| IsraBis | website | HE | not stated | not stated | not stated | recipes that turn into a priced basket |
| Kach | website | HE EN RU FR AR | not stated | no | yes | splits a basket and counts the extra trip |
| Kniham (our app) | Android | HE EN RU | 10 | yes | no | a shared list that keeps working with no signal |
| Oshek | website | HE | not stated | not stated | yes | basket comparison across six chains |
| Pricez | website, Android, iPhone | HE | not stated | not stated | yes | price history, alerts and receipt scanning |
| Salshakuf | website | HE | 1 | not stated | yes | sends the basket to the chain's own cart |
| SaveMyCart | website, browser extension | HE | not stated | not stated | not stated | a browser extension, not only a site |
| SuperKal | website | HE | not stated | not stated | not stated | no readable text on its page |
| Zap Market | not running | HE | not stated | not stated | not stated | did not answer when checked |
What each one does differently
CHP updates its prices every few hours, is free for private use "and always will be", and runs to roughly 119,000 pages — the only one here doing search at that scale. The name comes from "cherry pickers", shoppers who move between shops buying only what is on offer.
Pricez has the deepest feature set: whole-basket comparison, price history per product, alerts when a price drops, receipt scanning, user ratings and comments, and a data product for businesses.
Salshakuf does one thing nobody else does: with one click the whole basket moves into the cheapest chain's own cart, leaving only payment and a delivery slot. That also explains its two limits — one list, and items from the catalogue only. Type "flip-flops" and you get "not recognised". That is not a flaw; it is what has to happen when the basket is going to end up at a real checkout.
Kach splits a basket across two to four shops and adds a cost for each extra shop you would have to drive to — a calculation nobody else makes.
SaveMyCart is a browser extension as well as a site, and offers a developer interface.
IsraBis has built recipe pages that turn into a priced basket, and head-to-head pages pitting one chain against another. It also advertises an app: checked on 1 November 2026, both of its Google Play links returned not-found.
Oshek and Cheapersal are sites with a basket and a comparison; Cheapersal also ranks shops. SuperKal renders entirely in the browser, so its page has no text to read. Zap Market did not answer.
And us
Kniham is Android only, in three languages, with a barcode scanner and a shared list that keeps working with no signal and syncs when it returns. What it does not have: basket splitting, handing a basket to a chain's own cart, receipt scanning, price history, or an iPhone app.
How this was checked
Every row was checked on the service's own site or in the app stores, on one day — 1 November 2026 — and the date is recorded. We did not use competitors' comparison tables: one of them ranks its owner's app first of five, and that app is not in the store. If anything here is wrong or has gone stale, tell us and we will fix it.
Why publish a comparison you are in?
Because you cannot survey a market and leave yourself out of it without hiding something. Our row sits in alphabetical order with everyone else, and the sort is done in code rather than by hand.
Why does the table say "not stated" instead of "no"?
Because those are different things. "Not stated" means the service's own pages do not say; the feature may well exist and simply not be advertised. We will not write "no" about somebody else's product without a source.
How much of this was actually checked?
Every row comes from the service's own site or its store listing, with the date. None of it comes from a competitor's comparison table.